The 134th letter: Thank you

Dear Governor Haslam:

This is my 134th letter to you and perhaps the last one.

On May 19, 2014 I wrote my first letter to you. As much as I could until fairly recently I wrote you every day. I don’t think there is a part of the issue that I haven’t spoke about. I really tried to say only a couple of things: lots of people- ordinary Tennesseans- were being hurt unnecessarily and that it was time for Tennessee to be for all Tennesseans. Today I felt proud to be a Tennessean.

I want to personally thank you for your announcement of the “Insure Tennessee” program today. I am very grateful. Like everyone else I am scrambling right now to get the specific details about how it will work and I am sure there will be things I don’t like, but what I do like is that you stepped up. I appreciate your courage in doing this and I want to offer my support in any and every way possible to help make “Insure Tennessee” a reality. It is time. It is so much time.

The last year has been past words for me. Much of what was real and important has been upended and turned about. More than once I gave up and more than once I wanted to quit. I know you have heard the story more times than you wanted to. Today you give me hope.

Again thanks.

For a final time.

Yours truly,

Larry Drain

Leave a Reply

