A third 97th letter: In the E.R. The health system for the uninsured

Governor Haslam:

This is my 3rd 97th letter to you.

The ER is the medical system for poor people with no insurance.  I know.  I am there.

I came about 4 or 5 hours ago.  I was having severe pains in my chest and thought I was, despite feeling like my heart was in great shape, scared to death I was having a heart attack.  I wasnt but medical catastrophes take on new meaning when you are afraid you need something to stay alive that you have no insurance and  no way to access.  It is complete terror.   I was lucky.  But the terror was real, very real.

I am still here and they are still doing tests.  I think they think something is wrong with my gall bladder, but I dont know and neither do they yet.  If they say I need surgery of some kind (and God I hope they dont)what would you have me do governor??  I hope for a false alarm.  I really hope for a false alarm, but what if it is not?  The heart attack horror is gone, but what horror is next.

Governor I am not the only person who cant wait.  Some old stuff at same old speed wont cut it.  Obviously you cant do anything about today.  It is whatever it is, but you can do so much about so many tomorrows for so many people.

Governor act now.  What is the plan?

Until tomorrow.

Yours truly,

Larry Drain

Leave a Reply

